When you sign up or log in, the first page you’ll see is the Sites page. Here you can see a list of all  sites you have created in the past, with their status and the date and time you created them. From this page you can:

In the screenshot below you can see that two sites have been created. ‘My Site’ was created as a trial user, so there’s no option to deploy the database for that site. Because it’s a trial site, it will be deleted after seven days. ‘Systemik Solutions’ was created as a subscribed user, so the Content Workbench’s full functions are available for it.

Screenshot of the Sites page.The ‘Owner’ column displays the name of the user who owns each website. If a site has been created by another user and then shared with you, the name of the user that created that site will be displayed.

Only one user can edit a site at a time. If someone is already editing a Shared site, you won’t be able to access its dashboard. On the Sites page, it will look like this:

Screenshot of the Sites page, showing that some of the sites available are 'shared'. One of these is in use by another user.

Because someone is using ‘Systemik Solutions’, the dashboard is unavailable.

Tip: If you’re using a site and someone else wants to edit it from their account, you can stop using it by simply moving to the Sites page, logging off, or closing your browser window. This will free up the site for someone else to access the dashboard.

Creating a site

To create a site, click the Create button below the ‘Sites’ heading. The Create a Site page will display. Type your chosen site name in the ‘Name’ field, then you can add a source URL from the drop-down menu and customise your crawl options.

Screenshot of the Create a Site page.Working with Advanced Crawl Options

Screenshot of the Advanced Crawl Options. There are three sections: Crawl Mode, URL Filter Rule, and URL Follow Rule.

Below the ‘Site URL’ drop-down menu are some Advanced Crawl Options. You should only use these options if you’re an advanced user – the Workbench will work well even if you don’t change things here.

There are three crawl modes to choose from, which specify three different ways your site can be crawled.

In the URL Filter Rule field, you can add regular expressions to filter out certain pages on your site. You can add as many expressions as you want.

In the URL Follow Rule field, you can add expressions to explicitly include certain pages on your site and make sure that they are crawled by the Workbench. This works in the same way as the URL Filter Rule field.

You can also turn on or off the functions to obey “nofollow” tags and obey “robots.txt” by checking the boxes beside them.

When you’re ready, you can go ahead and click Create to create your site. Your site will then be crawled, analysed and provisioned. The process will look like this:

  • Provision the site: The Workbench is provisioning a basic site.
  • Read the content type: The Workbench is crawling your content to determine content types.
  • Read the source site content: The Workbench is crawling your content so it can show you the dashboard with a content structure for your site.

Depending on the size of your site, it may take anywhere from a few minutes to a few hours for the Workbench to finish crawling. You can exit the Workbench and come back any time to check if the site is ready to work with.