Your site’s existing pages are shown in the right panel of the dashboard. You can click Site in the left panel of the dashboard to see all the top-level pages in the right panel, or click on a parent page in the left panel of the dashboard to see just its subpages in the right panel. There are a range of operations that you can perform on these pages:

You can find the buttons for these operations in the drop-down menu under the Pages button.

Screenshot of the drop-down menu under the 'Pages' button. The menu items shown are Add, View, Edit, and Delete.

Adding a page

When you add a page, you’re not adding specific content. Adding a page simply creates a placeholder for a page that will exist on your completed website.

Sometimes when your original site is being crawled certain pages might not be accessible to the Workbench, and they might be missed. However, you can add the missing pages in yourself. This is also a handy tool if new pages have been added to the source website after your site was created.

To add a page click Pages > Add on the left-hand side of the dashboard’s main menu. Type the chosen URL for your page into the ‘Source URL’ field and the title into the ‘Title’ field. Select a content type and select rules for different fields from the drop-down menus.

Screenshot of the Add Page page.

Click Add to add the page. Your new page will then appear in your site’s structure in the left panel of the dashboard, as well as in the list of pages in the right panel. After you’ve added the page you can drag it to where you want it to go in the site’s structure.

Tip: You can also add pages after Exporting. Click here to find out how.

Editing a page

When you edit a page, you are not editing the specific content of the page. Editing a page simply edits the page’s properties.

To edit an existing page, click a checkbox on the left of the page you want. Then click Pages > Edit. On the Edit Page page you can change the title in the ‘Title’ field, or change the content type and rules using the drop-down menus. Changing a rule in this section will override any default rules that are defined by the page’s content type.

Screenshot of the Edit Page page.

When you are satisfied with your changes, click Save.

Tip: You can also edit pages after Exporting. Click here to find out how.

Editing multiple pages

You can edit more than one page at a time by selecting multiple checkboxes and clicking Pages > Edit. You can change the content types and rules for all the pages you’ve selected at once. However, you can’t edit the titles of pages when you edit multiple pages.

Remember to click Save when you’re done.

Deleting a page

To delete a page:

  1. Click a checkbox on the left of the page you want to delete.
  2. Click Pages > Delete > Delete.
  3. You can delete multiple pages by selecting multiple checkboxes at the same time.

Screenshot of the 'Confirm Delete' dialogue box.

Tip: You can also delete pages after Exporting. Click here to find out how.

Viewing a page

You can preview a page to see whether the rules you’ve assigned to it are working properly. On the View Page you will see all the field values for the page’s content type. If there’s no field value on your page that matches the rules you’ve set for the page, the field will be empty. If it’s an HTML field, it will display the preview of the HTML as well as the source HTML code.

To view a page:

  1. Select the page you want to view by ticking the checkbox on the left of the page.
  2. Click View. You’ll see a page that looks like this:

Screenshot of the page where you view a page from your site.

Tip: It’s a good idea to view a few pages before you migrate so you know that your content will be migrated properly.